You are Here: Archived Articles and Videos » Music Advocacy » Focusing on the Classroom: 2014 Music Standards

Share with:

The comprehensive, voluntary National Core Arts Standards (NCAS) were released publicly in June, 2014. Created by the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards, these standards are framed by a definition of artistic literacy that includes, "philosophical foundations and lifelong goals, artistic processes and creative practices, anchor and performance standards that students should attain as well as model cornerstone assessments by which they can be measured." (NCAS 2) In musical terms, artistic literacy requires that students become involved in active music-making processes.


Tip #2

Focusing on the Classroom: The 2014 Music Standards


For More information
Music Achievement Council
NAMM Foundation

Share with: